University of Vienna | UNIVIE

Leader of WP1: They build a novel molecular beam machine that integrates all technologies developed by all project partners. The machine shall enable us to explore the preparation and detection of biopolymer beams with precise control over charge, temperature, kinetic energy and mass combining the synthesis of photocleavable tags at UNIBAS with advanced high-mass spectrometer developments of MSVISION and high-power ultra-fast laser tools. Tailored nanowire detectors from SQ in combination with highly integrated cryogenic electronics from EPFL shall evolve into a highly sensitive detector array for these beams. THe integration of all these technologies shall open new avenues for mass analysis and biopolymer metrology.

PI
Univ. Prof. Dr. Markus Arndt
markus.arndt@univie.ac.at 

WWW: quantumnano.at

Master student 
Marcel Strauß
marcel.strauss@univie.ac.at 

WWW: quantumnano.at

Co-PI
Dr. Philipp Geyer
philipp.geyer@univie.ac.at 

WWW: quantumnano.at

Research scientist
Dr. Armin Shayeghi
armin.shayeghi@univie.ac.at 

WWW: quantumnano.at


Single Quantum Delft | SQ

Leader of WP2: They will design, fabricate and test superconducting nanowire detectors  tailored to the detection of lowly charged and neutral macromolecules, and they will tackle the challenge of integrating dozens of detectors in a compact array.

PI
Dr. Mario Castaneda
mario@singlequantum.com

Dr. Andreas Fognini
a.w.fognini@tudelft.nl 


École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne | EPFL

Leader of WP3: Designing, realizing and validating SNWAs (Superconducting Nanowire Array Cameras) with regard to their detection sensitivity, time and position resolution, reliability of read out and sensitivity to thermal cycling. This shall establish the first superconducting integrated molecular beam camera.

PI
Prof. Dr. Edoardo Charbon
edoardo.charbon@epfl.ch 

WWW: aqua.epfl.ch

PostDoc
Yatao Peng
yatao.peng@epfl.ch 

WWW: aqua.epfl.ch

PhD
Minglo Wu
minglo.wu@epfl.ch 

WWW: aqua.epfl.ch

Co-PI
Dr. Claudio Bruschini
claudio.bruschini@epfl.ch 

WWW: aqua.epfl.ch

PhD
Jad Benserhir
jad.benserhir@epfl.ch 

WWW: aqua.epfl.ch


University of Basel | UNIBAS

Leader of WP4: Synthesis and testing of tailored photo-active tags that will allow to softly charge and neutralize peptides and proteins on demand in high vacuum.

PI
Univ. Prof. Dr. Marcel Mayor
marcel.mayor@unibas.ch 

WWW: chemie1.unibas.ch

Co-PI
Dr. Valentin Köhler
valentin.koehler@unibas.ch 

WWW: chemie.unibas.ch


MSVISION

Leader of WP5: developing mass spectrometer instrumentation that allows one to couple innovative continuous mass filters for lowlycharged massive macromolecules, photochemical charge control and superconducting detector technology. This shall pave the path for novel macromolecular beam experiments at high mass and low charge, even with neutral proteins.

PI
Ing. Jan Commandeur
jc@msvision.com 

WWW: msvision.com

Research Scientist
Dr. Steven Daly